OpenAI keeps re-enabling the 'allow training' setting

A Hacker News user reports that OpenAI repeatedly re-enables the 'allow training' setting after they turn it off. They reset it more than once, noted the time of their last change, and later found it turned back on. They urge others to verify the setting if they believe it is currently disabled.

I've reset this more than once and the last time I made a careful note of when I did it and to my surprise I found it re-enabled when I checked just now.
  1. ozgung

    Happened to me recently, but on Claude.

    I resubscribed to Claude Code two weeks ago for a side project and updated it. I checked for the setting after these last events and it was turned on. I'm sure I checked them few months ago. There are cases like accepting a new TOS or an offer, which make you accept to share without noticing. I guess they can add all of your past conversations to the public training set before you notice and there is no way of taking this back.

    So that "opt-out" thing is more like a pause button rather than a permanent thing. Or something to legally protect the company without losing the users.

    There is also the case of security classifiers always monitoring your conversations. If they flag something they use your conversations to "improve their internal models" even when you "opt-out".

  2. ActionHank

    Lol, "Outrageous that the company that chose to ignore copyright holder claims, chose to ignore my checkbox of intent despite the implied pinky promise".

  3. cbg0

    I've disabled the checkbox many months ago and it's still disabled today. EU citizen, not sure if that's relevant.

  4. qurren

    Note: Turning off that checkbox is not enough. You also need to fill out the "Do not train on my content" request here:

    https://privacy.openai.com/policies?modal=take-control

  5. terminalbraid

    I quit OpenAI anything early when when their "do not train on my data" option was broken for several weeks. They are my one and only chargeback when I tried to quit and oops somehow I still got billed.

    They are a deeply unethical company by any measure of observation.

  6. yipinwong

    Does OpenAI use optimistic UI updates?

    After you disabled the checkbox, it might have had failed in the backend (and not updated the UI).

    Verify with devtools to see if that's the case.

    ---

    for me, Youtube "auto-play" irks the me same way, and turning it off did not actually succeed in the backend, thus kept on left as on

  7. frangonf

    There's also this setting here which I have set to 'Do not train on my content' even though I trust it the same as the 'allow training' one...

    https://privacy.openai.com/policies/en/?modal=take-control

  8. simonw

    Is this about the "improve the model for everyone" checkbox on https://chatgpt.com/#settings/DataControls or are there others to check, too?

    (That copy is a little flawed in my opinion, I'd prefer "models" plural.)

    That checkbox is in the ChatGPT settings, does it affect Codex desktop / Codex CLI as well?

More from this day

2026-09-10